I am going to talk again about the Hare&Hounds. For the beer lover, real ale amateur that I am, I was sorely dissapointed, as you know. Because I like to try different/rare beers in such a place, I don't want to get something I can find almost anywhere else. In other words, I'd like the local beers, especially the home-made beers, to be available. I don't go to L'Amère à Boire in Montréal hoping to get a Boréale I can find in the nearest dépanneur. Not that I don't like the Boréale (or the Brakspear, for that matter), but I expect home beers in local breweries/pubs. Something I know I will get in l'Amère à Boire, and in a wide variety. That said, my wife had a decent cappucino, and the menu is really, really tempting. I'd give a lot to try their lamb, their venison and even their cod. It's a pretty common fish, and white flesh isn't exactly exciting, but the recipe they have, with red cabbage, shallots and beetroots, is simply mouth watering. And it's Lent after all, and I promessed to my wife not to eat meat, i.e. anything coming from a warm blooded animal. It wouldn't feel like so much of a sacrifice if I was having that fish. The pub in itself is really nice, the staff are friendly, the tables are comfy, it's not too old-fashioned for VeggieCarrie (she likes "modern" pubs). That said, at £2 the bowl of nuts, £15 the aforementioned cod, there is only a slim chance we will get back there. There is no point going to a fancy pub (and it sure is fancy) if they don't have the main attraction.
Showing posts with label Hare and Hounds. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Hare and Hounds. Show all posts
Monday, 10 March 2008
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

